Home > Life, Weight Loss > Coming to you live from the blogosphere

Coming to you live from the blogosphere

Welcome to the newest blog on the planet (as of 19 min. ago or so)!  I’ve created this blog to journal my attempts at losing weight – one pound at a time.  My reasons for wanting to lose weight are pretty simple.  I’m 34 years-old and in October/November 2010, I weighed 350 pounds.  My DH and I were going through IVF at the time, trying to conceive a second child.  That’s when the doctor told me that there were “technical problems” seeing my ovaries…his nice way of saying that I was too fat for the ultrasound to get a good picture.

That wasn’t the first time a doctor told me that I needed to lose weight.  My caveat to that (which will be a post on its own some other time) is that while these doctors are great a telling me the obvious, none of them did anything much at all to actually help me.  So, I’ve been doing this on my own for about 5 months and am soon to embark on the South Beach Diet.

In these past 5 months, I’ve lost a total of 20 pounds.  I actually like to think that it has been more like 4 months because you just can’t count the holiday season when it comes to dieting.  So, that all works out to be about 1 pound per week.  How’d I do it?  Pretty simply, I started logging ALL the food I was eating (using CalorieKing.com) and tried to keep my daily calorie consumption to about 1800 calories.  I’ve also been exercising – riding a recumbent bicycle in our basement – which helps.  Some days with the exercise, things balance out to about 1400 calories…some days I eat a little more and then exercise to end up at 1800.  Whatever works, right?  I’m not hungry and I still get to eat the foods I enjoy.

Which brings me to the last few days.  A week ago, I was diagnosed with a heart block.  Not a blockage – a block.  To make a long story short, it is a problem with my heart’s wiring.  My cardiologist says they haven’t actually linked this condition to obesity, but they don’t know what it is causing it in my case.  Oh – and have I mentioned that a variety of heart diseases, stroke, and cancers run in my family?  Anyway, my cardiologist recommended the South Beach Diet – a diet developed by a cardiologist.

So that brings us to tonight, with the establishment of my blog.  During the next few weeks, I hope to share my thoughts and what I’m learning reading the South Beach Diet books…and let you know how I’m doing during Phase I of the diet.  Come back sometime soon and check on my progress!

Categories: Life, Weight Loss
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

