Home > South Beach, Weight Loss > Phase 1, Day 1 – Missing my Fiber One!

Phase 1, Day 1 – Missing my Fiber One!

Never start a diet on a Monday – that’s the first lesson I have learned on the South Beach Diet.  Why?  Because invariably on a Monday, something will go wrong.  My brilliant DH and I both work in the IT field.  He wins the prize for the most stressful day today — starting off his morning with a hardware failure on our email server.  I had a much less stressful day – sometimes being without email is a blessing – so I obsessed about all the foods I couldn’t have.  By mid-afternoon, I thought I was going to fall over, starving.  It was all in my head because calorically, I ate about the same amount that I would have on any other day, but still.  At the end of the day, I’m feeling okay in general.  I’ve been tracking my calories and today I ended up with a net intake of 593 calories.  (My intake the whole day was more like 1,000 calories, but I burned about 400 in exercise.)  That concerns me a little bit, but that seems reasonable given the sample meal plans.

So, what did we eat?  While the meal plans in the book(s) are probably things that most people would enjoy following, I’m a picky eater.  My hope is that this adventure will get me to accept more foods, but I have some pretty major texture issues to deal with.  Dr. Agatston argues that the best part of a sandwich is what’s in-between the pieces of bread.  I disagree.  I have the bread so I don’t notice the slightly wet texture of lunch meat.  Thus, this idea of wrapping some wet-ish deli meat inside of a wet-ish piece of lettuce and calling it a snack doesn’t exactly thrill me with delight.  Happily, Frigo string cheese sticks are my new BFF.  What I miss already though – more than bread – are my Fiber One breakfast bars.  Oh delicious fiber goodness.  My body misses them too, if you know what I mean.

Breakfast

Morning Snack

  • Frigo cheese stick

Lunch

  • 1 1/2 – 2 c. Dole Just Lettuce blend
  • hard-boiled egg
  • smattering of 2% reduced fat mild cheddar shredded cheese
  • 2 oz. Ranch dressing
  • Sugar-Free Jell-O

Afternoon Snack

  • 15 almonds

Dinner

No dessert tonight – we didn’t end up getting anything at the store, so I think tomorrow night we might have to pick up some of the Fudgesicles that are allowed.  At least I’ll have the illusion of chocolate 🙂

Categories: South Beach, Weight Loss
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

