Home > South Beach, Weight Loss > Mother’s Day Motivation

Mother’s Day Motivation

So yesterday I was feeling a little down on myself.  I’ve done about a week of the South Beach Diet and was disappointed in myself that I couldn’t even stick out Phase 1 for a week.  For Mother’s Day, we went out and ate at Buffalo Wild Wings.  Yes, I know that boneless wings are not SBD-friendly and I’m okay with that.  I’m also okay with the bagel and reduced-fat cream cheese that my super DH and amazing DS brought me in bed this morning.  But now I’m going to start again.

My weight this morning was 327.4 – which is still a 1.4 lb. loss from last week, but if you read my post on Tuesday you’ll notice I was down to 325.2 after my first day on SBD.  Granted, that was after the sleepless night with the shakes and jitters, so I’m not looking to lose the weight that quickly.  But still.

What am I going to do differently this week?  I’m going to try to incorporate more veggies.  Last week we did okay on the veggies, but I never really felt like eating a lot of them to really fill me up, you know?  You can only have green beans so many times.  (I love corn, but that’s forbidden due to the carb content.)  I’m also going to try to find some Phase 1 desserts that we can have.

Since it is Mother’s Day and my guys are napping, I’m going to take some time and list a few things that I’m proud of myself for doing.  I’m going to try my best, but I refuse to be defined by whether I perfectly follow one diet or another.  The scale continuing to move in the negative direction is ultimately what is important.

  • I’ve met almost all the goals that I have set so far by using my CalorieKing goal setter.  Some of them are to lose 5 pounds (back when I was at 350 and didn’t even know how to start), get down to 336 (the weight I was when we started the IVF treatment), exercise at least 25 minutes per week, 5 days a week, and drink at least 6 glasses of water a day.
  • I’ve been making much better food choices.  We don’t eat out as much as we used to and I try to have whole grains whenever possible.  I even (before SBD) ate brown rice instead of the lovely white minute rice I used to prefer.  (I would still prefer the white rice, I just know that’s not something I can eat very often, if at all.)
  • My handsome DH is doing this with me.  He’s always supportive, so that helps, but I’m more excited about the effect this is all having on his blood sugar.  Plus, he exercises 30 min. a day as well, so we help keep each other going.

Now I’m going to go do something fun – like make a card!  Happy Mother’s Day!

Categories: South Beach, Weight Loss
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

