Home > South Beach, Weight Loss > Not just about calories…

Not just about calories…

Well did I have a surprise when I stepped on the scale this morning.  As reported in an earlier post, my weight loss has stalled out this week as we switched over to Phase 2 of the South Beach Diet.  Thursday and Friday of this week, I was traveling for work and slipped up a little in terms of carbs, but not in terms of calories.  I still got in my 30 min. of exercise Thursday night (I did take Friday night off) and did not “overindulge”.  For lunch on Thursday, I had cheese-filled ravioli and some bread, but I also had a few meatballs to try and balance the carbs with protein.  Thursday night, our dinner choice was either salmon or chicken wellington – no surprise I opted for the chicken.  Chicken is good – wrapped in a phyllo dough with stuffing in the middle isn’t so good.  Friday lunch was a chicken and pasta dish.

The positive to my eating was that I left some food on my plate when I was done eating and I ate all my vegetables first (hooray!)  The negative side must have been all the carbs because this morning my weight was….up 4 pounds!  Seriously?  I gained 4 pounds in 1.5 weeks – and I’ve actually been behaving in terms of calories.  Heck until Thursday I had also been following the SBD rules for carbs – always whole grain.  So, right now I don’t believe the people who say weight loss is simply a matter of expending more calories than you take in.  If that were the case, there is no way in heck I could gain 4 pounds when I’m averaging about 1,000-1,200 calories a day.

So that’s my little whine.  This week we’re getting ready for DS’s birthday party and I’m feeling stressed already.  Plus, I have two doctor appointments this week (one to deal with my little heart conduction issue, which is also a major cause of my stress) so it is going to be hard to not fall into the habit of stress eating.  I’ll just have to try to look on the bright side…not sure what that is right now, but when I find it, then I’ll look…

Categories: South Beach, Weight Loss
  1. May 24, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    It could possibly be water weight also. Do you find it hard to just eat 1000-1200 calories. I am on a diet similar to yours. I eat between 1000-1300 calories a day. I’m working on portion control. Anyway I wanted to leave you a comment of encouragement. Stick with it! I have a weight loss blog also. I will be looking forward to seeing your progress!

  2. May 25, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    Thanks for leaving a comment and the encouragement! It is good to know I’m not just talking to myself out here 🙂 I’m sure water weight did play a part because the next day I had lost 2 of the 4 pounds. I have to try to get better about weathering the daily fluctuations and focusing on weekly weight loss.

    Lately it hasn’t been hard to stick to 1000-1200 calories. When I exercise, I burn like 500 calories (a perk to being so heavy?), so I can easily net 1200. Sometimes that’s all I care to eat. My first week on South Beach Diet I was netting about 600-800 calories a day, just because it was so restricted. To be honest, most of my calorie intake used to come from eating out, snacking at night and…too big portions 🙂 Best of luck on your journey as well – I will definitely pop over and check out your blog!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

