Home > Family, Weight Loss > Reasons for losing…

Reasons for losing…

I’m in what you would call a bit of a slump.  Granted, it is probably self-induced (hello Olive Garden for dinner to celebrate DS’s last day of preschool), but it is a slump nonetheless.  I have gained and lost the same 3-4 pounds for the last couple of weeks.  Tomorrow we’re going to get an cheap TV stand for the basement so we can hook up our old TV and DVD player – then I’ll be able to do my “Lift Weights to Lose Weight” workout down there.  I’m a little nervous to stop the bike riding to lift weights a few times a week, so I might try to do it all together after a few weeks.  I hate being away from my family for a full hour, but if it will get me over this hill, then it will be worth it in the end.  Heck, I’m scheduled for a sleep study in a couple of weeks and if I end up being diagnosed w/ sleep apnea (like my doc thinks), then I may even be able to get myself out of bed at 6am to work out.  We’ll see about that…

So anyway, I thought that trying to list out my reasons for wanting to lose weight might help give me that little extra motivation I need to keep going and to stop sabotaging myself with those “little extras” (a bite of chocolate here, a few chips with my taco salad there).  My reasons vary from the self-altruistic (wanting to be healthy) to the no-brainers (wanting extra energy to play with my son) to the purely vain (I don’t want to be the “fat mom” when DS goes to Kindergarten).  I feel almost embarrassed to admit that last one.  It isn’t so much for me – it is to protect my DS from teasing.  He’s been taught that God made us in all shapes and sizes and that’s really cool…but I still worry.

I’ll list 5 of my reasons for wanting to lose weight.  If you’re trying to lose weight too, I’d love to hear from you.  What are your reasons for wanting to lose weight?

1.  I want to be healthy.

2.  I want to be able to run around (literally) in the backyard with my son.

3.  I don’t want to be the “fat mom” when DS goes to Kindergarten.

4.  I want to set a good habit of eating healthy and exercising for my son.

5.  I want to be able to shop at a mainstream department store.

Categories: Family, Weight Loss
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

