Home > South Beach, Weight Loss > My first experience with HIIT

My first experience with HIIT

If you’ve read my recent post, you know I’ve been struggling to get over a weight loss plateau for a few weeks now.  Some of it has been because I’ve had a few “slip ups” (e.g. Olive Garden….oh yeah, and we did Coldstone Creamery last night.  It was the first time I’d been there since DS was 2!)  But the vast majority of the time I’m eating 1,000-1,200 calories per day (that’s net…after I burn 500 calories from exercise) and I’m riding the recumbent bike 30 min. at a time, 5-6 nights a week.  Being the weight that I am (322.8 currently), one would expect that I would drop the poundage like crazy.  I wish.  I’m actually a little worried that my calorie intake has put my body in that “starvation mode” where metabolism slows because the body assumes you must be in the middle of some great famine.

I read that one way to get over a plateau is to change up your exercise routine, so tonight I tried my take on HIIT – high intensity interval training.  I basically involves short spurts of massively intense exercise interspersed with less intense “rest” periods.  You know in the movie Dodgeball when the guy talks about “keeping the body guessing”?  That’s the whole idea.  This is something I read about in the second South Beach Diet Supercharged book, though I can’t remember if it was called HIIT.  Come to think of it, I also read about SHIIT (somewhat high intensity interval training) on the Cranky Fitness blog.  They’re not currently posting new things, but they have a massive archive.  Damn funny site.

Anyway, a real personal trainer might laugh at me calling what I did HIIT, but it got me sweaty and breathing hard.  As I was riding tonight, I actually realized that my usual 30 minute rides had become rather ho-hum.  I wasn’t sweating by the end like I did when I first started.  This makes me feel great!  I take it as a sign that I’m getting more fit 🙂  Of course it sucks because now I have to step it up a notch.

My bike has 10 columns that show the intensity/resistance, so I know each column is worth 3 minutes.  I always warm up with riding about 12 mph on setting 1 for 1 minute, then 11 mph on setting 2 for 2 minutes.  Then, for the next 9 columns, I would do 1-1.5 minutes of higher intensity (either riding faster or at a higher resistance), then back down to rest for 1.5-2 minutes.  I think I’m going to try doing a similar routine each night this week (maybe I will even remember to write it down so I can post it here) and see if that helps get the scale moving in a downward direction again.

Oh, I also found an article about adding some hand weights so you want work your upper body as you ride.  Usually I just wave my arms periodically or make little dance-like moves along to whatever song I happen to be listening to.

Categories: South Beach, Weight Loss
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

