Home > Life, Weight Loss > Can’t Believe I Fit!

Can’t Believe I Fit!

So, we just returned from a work-trip-slash-family-vacation and we had to fly to Philadelphia.  I absolutely hate to fly.  There are really three things that I hate the most about being in that aluminum tube:

1.  I hate taking off.  I can feel the moment that the wheels leave the ground and my heart drops to my stomach.  I over-analyze the sounds of the engine (is it supposed to make that whine? uh oh, sounds like it powered-down a little, etc.).  I don’t like feeling pressed against the back of the seat as we speed down the runway.  Pretty much everything about the take-off process terrifies me.

2.  I hate turbulence.  I know that for the most part, its just like your car going over bumps in the road and is totally normal.  Still…  A little turbulence when we’re just “cruising” isn’t too bad.  But, give me turbulence during take off as we’re ascending…well…

3.  I hate the seat belts.  Or the seats in general.  For thin people, no problem.  For anybody over a size 14, we’re squished.  Luckily, flying this time there was a little boy (DS) in between DH and I, so that helped with a little more room 🙂  But the seat belts often don’t work for me, i.e., they don’t fit me.  I learned this many many years ago and bought myself a seat belt extender.  I do think it often depends on the plane, I have had to use it more than I could go without it.

Well, this trip, I was able to go without the extender!  Woo hoo!  I think I’m going to have to add another reason or two for wanting to lose weight:

  • I don’t want to have to use a seat belt extender on an airplane.
  • I want to be able to fly and not have to be self-conscious, thinking about whether the person beside me is cursing their luck for getting stuck sitting next to a fat person.
Categories: Life, Weight Loss
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

