Home > Recipes, South Beach, Weight Loss > Recipe: Italian Hoagie Salad

Recipe: Italian Hoagie Salad

Since starting on the South Beach Diet almost 2 months ago (?), my darling DH and I have been eating a salad for lunch almost every day.  It is getting a little old – lol!  I have texture issues, so the only meat I’ve ever added to my salad is chicken, but DH regularly adds diced ham.  Today, he also added the turkey pepperoni that we have.  As we were leaving work today, he commented that he really enjoyed his salad because it was like he was having an Italian Hoagie – just without the bun!  I do believe this salad would be appropriate for all phases of the South Beach Diet.  Add more or fewer of the ingredients as you wish.

Ingredients:

1.5-2 c. Hearts of Romaine Lettuce mix
Diced ham
Turkey pepperoni
Low-moisture, part-skim mozzarella shreds
your favorite low-sugar dressing (I think DH used a balsamic vinegarette)

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment