Home > Weight Loss > Focusing on health

Focusing on health

I’ve been a little bummed lately.  My weight loss has stalled for the most part (but I think I’m back on track again, this morning the scale read 321 on the dot).  My wonderful DH, who eat almost exactly the same things that I do and exercises the same amount, has lost 5 pounds in the last week.  Yes, I’m super, SUPER excited for him and proud as well.  But, I can’t help feeling frustrated that I’m not enjoying the same success.

You know, I’ve been so focused on the numbers that appear on the scale that I’ve kind of forgotten lately about the real benefit of all this – and that’s my increased health!  For my own affirmation, here are the health-related accomplishments I’ve had in the last 5-6 months:

  • I drink at least 48 oz. of water every day
  • I get 30 minutes of exercise at least 5 times per week
  • I’m eating more vegetables
  • I’m eating less sugar and less white flour
  • I’m eating lean meats, and more chicken than I used to
  • We’re eating at home for almost every meal, so our meals are lower in fat (and we use EVOO to cook)

Not too shabby!  We’ll see how I’m able to do over this 4th of July weekend.  Even if the numbers aren’t moving as fast as I’d like, I’m proud of the fact that I’m doing things that are much healthier for me and my family.

Categories: Weight Loss
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

