Home > Weight Loss > Getting hot and sweaty – and lovin’ it!

Getting hot and sweaty – and lovin’ it!

November 1, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Gotta love Just Dance 3!  I took yesterday off – being Halloween, I figured I got a decent workout walking around the neighborhood for 1.5 hours with a 5 year old ninja (who was absolutely adorable, by the way).  Tonight, I was back onto my dancin’ train!  Actually, I had gone downstairs earlier tonight, intending on riding the recumbent bike, but I turned it on and realized that it was out of batteries.  So, I went for the “just sweat” setting on the game.  Last week I did the first level (can’t remember what it was called )…but I earned enough sweat points to equate to walking 30 min. a day.  This week, my goal is to earn enough sweat points to equate to running 30 min. a day.  I don’t think it is actually that equivalent, but what the heck, my heart rate is up and I’m getting sweaty so who cares what it equates to!  Plus, it is fun, Fun, FUN!

The exercise helped to off-set the Halloween goodies I ate today.  I took the leftover treats into work and unfortunately, I still ended up snacking on them.  Luckily, so did my co-workers and in another day or two, all the temptation will be gone.

Other than my chocolate binge today, I ate okay.  Had the usual Fiber One bar for breakfast and lunch was a salad with a little sliced ham, turkey, and baby Swiss cheese on it.  Had to work late tonight, so it was a drive through dinner.  I chose the side salad, but also got the personal cheese pizza.  So, lots of fat calories there and a good deal of carbs.  Not as pleased with my choice there, but since I’m back to the beginning, I feel okay with the majority of my day.

Tomorrow, DH is going to be out of town and is going to eat lunch there, which usually equates to a “free pass” for me to eat lunch out too.  Not sure yet what I’m going to do.  I’ll either pack a salad (the “good” choice), or pick up a salad at Panera or Quiznos (the “pretty good” choice).  I think I’ll opt to pack my own and save the money.

So I also signed up for more information about a medically supervised weight loss program.  There are orientation sessions on a regular basis and I’m still trying to decide whether or not I want to go.  The program (from what I understand) has you eating 500-800 calories per day.  What I’m curious about is whether it has a behavioral therapy component.  I think that is probably more what I need.  So we’ll see if I end up going to a session – still undecided.  Partly scared that I’ll fail, partly it just feels silly because I could eat 500-800 calories here if I had the willpower (though I understand medical supervision is a must at that point).  I truly don’t know.

Have you ever participated in a medically supervised weight loss program?  What did you like?  What didn’t you like?

Categories: Weight Loss
  1. November 5, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    Did you sign up for the program, and does it include the behavioural stuff? I tend to figure that’s most of my problem. I’ve been on enough diets (and non-diets… ie. healthy lifestyle type programs) that I feel like I know the answers when it comes to food, and even exercise, but it’s my mind that’s the problem.

    I’ve tried a heap, from the more sensible, like Weight Watchers, plus the one I’ve been on recently, as well as those ridiculous no carb type / meal replacement ones as well (which others may enjoy / find sustainable but I don’t tend to).

    It sounds like you are doing some exercise which is great. I only restarted exercise in May of this year (after several months – or umm… years – of laziness), but the hardest thing I find is to identify exercise which I enjoy… but I do enjoy dance-type stuff (like Zumba etc), so your Just Dance programs sound perfect.

    Keen to hear how you go… (I need some motivation!)

    Deb

    • November 5, 2011 at 8:44 pm

      I haven’t signed up for the program – I actually didn’t even register for the orientation because of a bad work schedule this week. They hold orientations twice weekly, so I can still go in the future. The program is one of those meal replacement ones which kind of freak me out to be honest. I get really excited at the prospect of losing so much weight so quickly, but get nervous about that too. So I’m still not sure what all it entails. And yeah, I really love the Just Dance – if you have the Wii, you should check it out! I’ve been thinking of trying Zumba as well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

