Home > Recipes, South Beach, Weight Loss > Recipe: A1 Ranch Patty Burgers

Recipe: A1 Ranch Patty Burgers

November 2, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

We had these burgers a couple of weeks ago and I thought they were so good, I figured I’d post the recipe.  When following the South Beach Diet, I’ve had a hard time eating burgers without the bun.  I honestly don’t like meat that much and kind of rely on the bun to cut all the meat taste, if that makes any sense.  So I was pleasantly surprised when I had these burgers and didn’t even miss the bun!  The recipe is originally from beef.betterrecipes.com and modified slightly.  I think these are good for South Beach dieters, except for the sugar.  I need to look into the steak sauce too…

Ingredients

  • 6 Tbsp A1 Steak Sauce
  • 1 Tbsp Ranch Dressing Mix Powder
  • 2 tsp Sugar
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Pepper
  • 1 lb Ground Beef 90% Lean
  • 2 tsp Smart Balance

Directions

Combine steak sauce, ranch powder, sugar, salt and pepper. Pour over ground beef and mix well. Divide into four equal portions and shape into patties. In a large skillet, melt Smart Balance, then add burgers and cook on each side for four minutes or until patties are cooked to taste. Remove burgers, place on plate with side items, and do not add a bun. Drizzle drippings on each burger and serve.

Ease: Great for weeknights

Whole-Family Appeal: 2.5 of 3 thumbs up (DH thought that the flavors were too strong.  We’re thinking next time we’ll reduce the A1 to maybe 4 Tbsp and see if that helps.  I’m also interested in trying to substitute Splenda instead of the sugar next time.)

Wouldeatitagain Factor: We’re definitely going to try this again.  I actually took the leftover burger in for lunch the next day and that’s almost unheard of for me – so I’m stoked!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

