Home > Weight Loss > A little whine, but a NSV

A little whine, but a NSV

November 6, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Went grocery shopping today and as I was waiting in line for the self-checkout, I couldn’t help but look into the cart of the woman who was in front of me.  She had a little girl with her – maybe 7-8 years old and the cart was filled with boxes of macaroni and cheese, store brand spaghetti, cans of vegetables like cooked carrots, boxes of crackers, a bag or two of cookies, etc.  Not judging what she was eating – in fact, I was envious for a couple of reasons.  First, the sheer cost factor of being able to pick up a box of spaghetti for less than $1.00 as opposed to the special whole grain or low carb varieties that are $2.50 or more.  Second, because I’d really like a bag of cookies.  But mostly because…get this…the woman was a stick figure!  *Sigh*  It really isn’t fair.

On the other hand, I had a non-scale victory (NSV) today.  I hadn’t actually heard of NSV’s until I read about them on several other weight loss blogs.  A non-scale victory is something you’re proud of accomplishing related to weight loss that has nothing to do with what the scale said.  So, my NSV today is the fact that I totally wanted a box of Better Cheddars and I passed right by them.  YAY ME!

Feeling rather productive today.  I’ve been tidying up a little (trying to keep the house clean – good luck to me), sorted through a big stack of DS’s Kindergarten papers to figure out which to keep, and tested out another paint color for the front hallway.  So far I’ve tried 3 paint colors and I’m not in love with any of them.  Either our carpet changes colors or the walls change colors throughout the day.  Okay, so I’m sure it is the lighting conditions.  One color I love in the morning with the sunlight coming in the front door.  At night, it looks too pink.  So the color I love at night looks a little too dark during the day.  But for the sake of feeling like we’ve accomplished something, I’m just going to pick one and go with it.  I’m tired of trying to decipher the subtle differences between the various colors of taupe on the market.  Hey, walls can always be re-painted right?

Categories: Weight Loss
  1. November 7, 2011 at 5:28 am

    Love the NSV. (I actually had to google it recently when someone left a comment on my blog using the term!)

    I caved and bought some champagne today when I shouldn’t have… so love the fact that you passed by your Better Cheddars! It’s all of those small things which add up to HUGE WINS!

    Deb

    • November 7, 2011 at 6:00 pm

      I’m glad I read about NSV’s – it gives me something else to focus on. Sometimes the scale is downright depressing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

