Home > South Beach, Weight Loss > This week’s meal plan

This week’s meal plan

November 6, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

So I’m not sure if I’ve ever mentioned this before, but when we first started trying to lose weight, we knew one of the biggest hurdles to overcome was our habit of dining out several dinners (and lunches) each week.  So I bought a couple of South Beach Diet cookbooks and made a commitment to eat at home more often.  To do this, I knew we needed to do a better job of planning out our meals for the week.  I started just keeping track of things on notebook paper.  If I found a recipe online, I’d print it out.  Pretty soon we had a lot of loose notebook and printer paper lying around.

That’s when I went in search of meal planning software.  One of the tools I found was web-based, which totally appealed to me, so I signed up.  The site is Plan To Eat, and there is a 30 day free trial.  When my free trial ended, I signed up for a year’s subscription – it really has been a big help for us.  First, it allows me to enter and save recipes right in my own online recipe box.  (An awesome bonus is it comes with this toolbar button that will automatically fill in all of the information for recipes you save on certain websites – and they’re a ton of them.  I hope that they make Kalyn’s Kitchen one soon!)  Second, it has a weekly meal planning section that is literally a drag-and-drop interface, which is super easy to use.  And lastly, the meal planning populates a shopping list.  How cool is that?  It makes my life easier.

Anywho, back to the topic at hand – our meal plan for this week.  We’re working our way back to being more consistent with the South Beach Diet and at this point I’m darn tempted to go back to Phase 1 for a couple of weeks.  I need to re-read the SBD book for motivation.  Both DH and I are very sensitive to carbohydrates, so it is something to be considered.

Today – Bertolli Pasta Bake and salad (I bought a couple of bags on sale, so while not SBD friendly, we keep portion size low)Pork Chops with Dijon Sauce and green beans

Monday – Crock Pot Orange Chicken and rice (going to use sugar-free orange marmalade and low-sugar ketchup, brown rice)

Tuesday –  Pork Chops with Dijon Sauce and green beans

Wednesday – Chicken Spinach Pear Salad With Gorgonzola & Pecans (DS will probably have Spaghettios and leftover green beans)

Thursday – Barbacoa Beef over Cilantro Lime Rice with Southwestern Black Bean Salad (will freeze half of the beef for another week)

Friday – Pizza and salad

Saturday – Leftover Barbacoa Beef

So that’s the plan – now let’s see how well we stick to it.  Lunch this week will be any leftovers, or salads.  I think I’ll be having Cobb salad for the most part, so I better go get some hard boiled eggs made!

Categories: South Beach, Weight Loss
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

