Home > Weight Loss > Crock Pot Orange Chicken = Epic Fail

Crock Pot Orange Chicken = Epic Fail

November 8, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

A truly magnificent disaster.  Poor DH – he was so very excited to have Orange Chicken.  We arrived home tonight to see that over half of our creation was sitting blackened and charred beyond recognition in the crock pot.  Yuk.  We’re pretty sure that we should have used our smaller crock pot and/or left the recipe at its original 6 servings instead of cutting it down to 3.  There just was too much surface-to-stuff ratio for our little creation to slowly cook for 7 hours on low.  This was a bigger disaster than the kidney bean brownies

I did great with lunch today – just a regular lettuce salad with some cut up ham and a boiled egg.  DH is running out to get dinner as I type (chicken fried rice for me), so while the carb outlook is horrendous, I’ll try to keep my portion size down.  However, I’m feeling rather down in the dumps so I may just eat it all and not give a pooh.  Yesterday I had a doctor’s appointment to follow up on this cough that has hung on after my bout with the flu/bronchitis earlier.  Three weeks ago, the doc gave me a steroid inhaler and that totally stopped the cough for about two weeks.  Last week, it came back – a deep, barking cough that I know has crap behind it.  Doc said my lungs sound good and that it probably just needs to run its course.  Of course I can’t leave it at that – I’m worried there is something more sinister going on.  I soon have my 6-month follow-up CT scan to double check the size of a couple of “non-specific lymph nodes” they found back in April.  So of course I’m worried about that, even though the pulmonologist wasn’t concerned at all.  Only a few more weeks and I should know for certain and can hopefully stop worrying for a few months.  That would be a nice feeling!  Plus, it is grey and rainy today and it totally zaps my energy.  I even contemplated just walking around in my underwear at home tonight because I felt too exhausted to change clothes after work.  Don’t worry, I am fully clothed as I sit here – it was just one of those feelings, you know?

Have you had any epic fails during your weight loss cooking efforts?  I’d love to hear about them!

Categories: Weight Loss
  1. November 9, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    I have to admit I’m not very adventurous when it comes to trying new things. I made a bean salad this week for the first time but it wasn’t overly complicated!

    The biggest problem I had (while SERIOUSLY trying to lose weight) was not working out how many calories in a dish before I made it. It was something involving mince (ground beef) and rice etc and after I’d put it in the oven I sat down to calculate the calories and work out how much I could eat and stay within my calorie limit. Basically I was allowed to have a tablespoon or two and that was it. Even though the mince was low fat, it was still high calorie, as was the rice. BIG MISTAKE. Though I learned my lesson!

    Hope you enjoyed the chicken fried rice!

    • November 9, 2011 at 7:56 pm

      There is some dish I’ve had before that sounds similar – ground beef and rice and it had some sort of gravy or something. Maybe it was cream of mushroom soup. At that time in my life, I didn’t care about calories though 🙂 I think that’s one of the hardest things about trying to lose weight and cook meals on your own. If you don’t get the recipe from somewhere that already calculated all the nutritional values out for you, you have to do it yourself. I usually end up putting things into CalorieKing and then saving them so I can use that meal again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

