Home > Life > FMM: Holiday Shopping

FMM: Holiday Shopping

November 30, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I haven’t posted in a little while – been in a bit of a funk – likely because it is getting dark so early now.  So tonight I was reading some blogs that I follow and found one that mentioned this “Friend Making Monday”.  Neat concept!  Since I don’t have anything to report on the weight-loss front, I thought I’d give this a try and mix it up a bit 🙂  The concept is from www.alltheweigh.com – Kenlie posts the topic and questions, you reply on your blog and then link back in the comments on her site.  So, without further ado, here is my FMM contribution for the topic of holiday shopping!

  1. Do you like to shop? I love shopping for gifts for other people, especially my family!  I despise shopping for clothes for myself.
  2. Have you started shopping for Christmas gifts yet? Yes, just last week on Black Friday.  This Friday DH and I have our annual shopping day.  We take the day off from work and try to get as much shopping done as we can.  I look forward to this day more than almost any other day of the year.  It is just nice to spend time together and have lunch – just us.
  3. Did you shop on Black Friday?  If so, what did you buy?  Yes, but I didn’t go out until about 9:30 a.m. 🙂  I mostly bought toys for my son and my nephew…and a few things for DH.
  4. List a few of your favorite stores. Target, Kohl’s, Michaels, Barnes and Noble, Bed, Bath & Beyond, and Bath & Body Works
  5. What is the last thing you purchased for yourself (food and drinks excluded?) Wow, I don’t really remember.  It was probably the frame I bought a few weeks ago for our family picture.
  6. Do you prefer to shop in-store or online?  I prefer shopping in-person.  For me, shopping is also about the experience and the “me time”, so it is nice to browse, touch things, etc.
  7. If you could purchase one thing that you don’t need at all for yourself today, what would it be?  Right now I feel like I have everything I want, so it is hard to say.  I can’t find my journal (it got packed away when we got new carpet 2 years ago…obviously I don’t write in it much), so maybe a really lovely journal.
  8. Does your significant other shop with you?  Do they love it/hate it? Usually not, with the exception of our holiday shopping day and I love that!  Before our son was born, we used to do much more shopping together.
  9. Do you shop at thrift stores? Not anymore.  When we were first starting out 12-13 years ago, and DH had nothing, we bought him a lot of work clothes from the thrift store.
  10. When you’re holiday shopping, do you make lists?  Yes, and I found a free app for my phone to keep track of everything!

Thanks for the fun, Kenlie!

Categories: Life
  1. rockafellaskank
    November 30, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    I’m interested in the list-making iPhone app you mention. I seriously need to start doing grocery lists because I constantly forget things.

    Like you I hate clothes shopping, but I also hate all kinds of shopping – even grocery shopping. I think if I could do everything online I would. Even better if I could ‘outsource’ it and get someone else to do it… especially the big stuff (TVs, computers etc cos I procrastinate for ages before buying). It took me nearly a year to buy my last computer and I’ve been talking about a new car for 6mths and a laptop for about 10mths!

    • December 3, 2011 at 10:17 am

      I don’t know if the app is available for iPhone, but it is in the Android market for free. I just searched for “Christmas list” and found it! I think the name of it is actually “Christmas List Maker”.

      Big purchases cause me stress too – and like you, it takes me forever to make a decision! My biggest struggle right now is finding a paint color for our entry hallway (and it will eventually go throughout the rest of hallways and the family room). There are literally thousands of colors that I would call “tan”. On our shopping day yesterday, I made DH look at paint samples with me and I thought he was going to pass out – he can’t tell the difference at all!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

