Home > Family, Weight Loss > Saturday weigh-in, feeling good

Saturday weigh-in, feeling good

December 3, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I stepped on the scale this morning and was a little nervous.  After we got back home from spending Thanksgiving with my mom, I had gained a couple of pounds back.  So, I was very pleasantly surprised when the scale said 326.4!  I even had pajamas on, so I’m thinking it might actually be a wee bit lower.  Only 6.4 more pounds to go to hit my immediate goal!  After I typed this, I went upstairs to shower and weighed myself again, sans pajamas.  Guess what?  The scale read 325.2.  Even better – sweet!

We ate pretty well this week – not as much dining out is always a help.  And the couple of days where we had a big lunch, I just had some cereal for dinner, which helped keep the calories in check.  I’m honestly not paying much attention to the carbs right now.  Earlier this year I was successful losing 20 pounds in 4 months just due to lowering calories and exercising.  We’re still trying to make good choices when it comes to carbs, but they aren’t freaking me out like they used to.  Of course that is always subject to change 🙂

Last night was good for my soul.  For some reason, I’ve been feeling particularly “down” for the last month or two and haven’t been able to put a finger on exactly what was causing it.  In the spirit of the holidays, last night we watched the movie “Elf” as a family.  This year was really the first that our son was able to watch the whole thing without being bored and we all had good laughs!  Of course the fire in the fireplace and the S’Mores didn’t hurt either.

Speaking of movies, while out shopping yesterday, DH and I picked up National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation on blu-ray.  That is my all-time favorite holiday movie!  Unfortunately, it isn’t something we can share with DS due to language, but maybe if it comes on TV and is dubbed he could watch it.

What is your favorite holiday movie?

Categories: Family, Weight Loss
  1. sweetopiagirl
    December 3, 2011 at 10:57 am

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

  2. rockafellaskank
    December 4, 2011 at 1:24 am

    The carbs thing can be very fraught can’t it! I lose more weight when I’m off them or not eating them, but I realise that’s not sustainable. Also, you did well by losing the 20lbs just by being careful and exercising. DEFINITELY more sustainable I think.

    Congrats on nearing your immediate goal!

    • December 5, 2011 at 7:16 pm

      Amen to that! Depending on the week, I go back and forth. The South Beach Diet approach made a lot of sense to me, medically. I struggle with insulin resistance so I think I’m even more sensitive to carbs. But, you’re exactly right – it was not sustainable for me – or at least I would have had to work extremely hard to make it sustainable. Then I read all these different “lifestyle” plans out there and realize that nobody has the perfect solution and the ones that have the most success are still making good food choices and exercising – regardless of what plan they’re really on 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

