Home > Weight Loss > Recapturing my old self

Recapturing my old self

December 9, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Now that I’ve been exercising consistently for about a year (YAY ME!), I’ve been looking for ways to spice things up a bit.  Last Christmas, my very thoughtful DH got me Just Dance 2, and a couple of months ago I picked up Just Dance 3.  They’re great fun and are a nice change of pace from ye olde recumbent bicycle.  I had seen this Zumba game in stores for a while and kept debating whether I wanted to pick it up.  The woman on the box sure looked like she was having fun…but then again she had abs of steel.  (Maybe I’m dating myself here – does that reference ring a bell any more?)

So finally I asked DH to pick it up for me while he was at the store.  Yikes.  First problem – the belt that the Wiimote slips into is only 50″ or so long and is supposed to be worn around your hips.  Hmmmm…my waist is about 50″, so there’s no way that thing is fitting around my hips.  So, I’ve been resourceful and stuck the Wiimote into the waistband of my underwear (holds it tighter than just my pants).

First night, I did a couple of the tutorials to learn some steps and then tried the 20 minute Beginner class.  Yikes again.  I didn’t even make it through the second routine.

So a few nights this week, I just did single routines and it felt good.  Since today was a bad eating day (we went out to Olive Garden for dinner), I decided to do my usual 30 minutes on the recumbent bike, but then after I put my son to bed, I decided to try that 20 min. Beginner class again.  Guess what?  I made it through!  Granted, during a couple of routines I had to sit down for a minute, but I made it through.  I’m looking forward to the day when I’m able to make it all the way through the class.

It made me think back to my younger years.  In high school I was an athlete, playing volleyball, and was also a cheerleader.  So even though I was still a big girl, I was active – and actually pretty damn good!  It makes me a little sad to realize how far from that person I am now.  Yes, I know I’m not 16 anymore, but even so I want to be able to really move again.  And I’m determined that by eating right and exercising, I’ll get there.  Tonight was another step in the right direction!

Categories: Weight Loss
  1. December 10, 2011 at 1:01 am

    You will get there! Every little bit counts. Making exercise fun is the only way to stick with it. We got the Wii for my son’s birthday next week. Honestly it is more of a family gift because my husband and I are looking forward to all the active games we can play. I am definitely buying on of the dance games!

    Keep doing what you’re doing. You will get there!!

    • December 10, 2011 at 5:26 pm

      Thanks! I feel so good about exercising now. You’ll definitely enjoy the Wii – there are even some educational games for it.

  2. rockafellaskank
    December 10, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    I understand what you mean about the realisation you are far from the girl you once were. I’m the same and when I think back, I’m filled with regret and I want some magic time machine that can take me back to when I was 16 yrs old and I’d do EVERYTHING differently.

    Why why why can’t someone invent something like that?! (I’m not asking too much. Surely!)

    • December 11, 2011 at 11:06 am

      Oh absolutely – “if I knew then what I know now”…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

