Home > Weight Loss > Walking it out

Walking it out

December 13, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I think I’m addicted to a new Wii game.  I first read about it on Arrow Dynamic Mom’s blog and was pretty excited to find it on Amazon.com for $20.  Not sure why, but for some reason I thought that the the only Wii games in existence could be found in Target or Toys ‘R Us.  So anyway, check out ADM’s blog for a nice review, but in a nutshell the game is all about walking – pretty much in place – and building up your island as you walk around.  There are some popular songs along with a bunch of songs I’ve never heard of, though they are catchy.  It is pretty easy for a half hour to fly by.  The only thing I find frustrating is walking in place.  If you use the Wiimote/nunchuck combination you can actually walk around a little more, as long as you’re still in range of the Wii.  It isn’t the same as walking outside though – really stretching your legs out.  Even so, it is a fun game and gets me moving so I certainly won’t complain!

I’m trying to get in a few extra 20 minute or so sessions of activity this week – we have 2 holiday parties for work and event at the school, so there will be some high calorie meals.

Hmmm…watching tonight’s Glee and trying to type at the same time isn’t working out.  This is one of my favorite shows on TV so I’m going to go indulge in a little mindless tube-watching.  What’s your favorite show on TV?

Categories: Weight Loss
  1. December 13, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    Sounds like a fun game what is it called? I have a Wii to and use the wii fit everyday.

    • December 14, 2011 at 8:37 pm

      Wow, I can’t believe I forgot to mention the name! It is called “Walk It Out” 🙂

  2. December 14, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    I am setting up our, I mean my son’s new Wii on Friday night after he goes to bed so that we can surprise him on his birthday the next morning. Can you tell I’m a little excited?! As the weather gets colder I think this is going to be a fun way to add activity to our day while still inside.

    You know I stopped watching actual TV probably around the time my son was born. Working nights makes it difficult to get into any particular program. I do follow Biggest Loser and the Amazing Race online. I’ve heard so much about Glee and everyone seems to love it. Maybe someday I’ll get to watch an episode.

    • December 14, 2011 at 8:46 pm

      Too funny! You are going to love it. He is going to love it! I didn’t realize how many games there actually are for the Wii. Check out that Arrow Dynamic Mom’s blog in my post – she has reviews of all kinds of active games.

      I wish I didn’t watch so much TV, but I do – actually, I watch a lot of shows that I probably shouldn’t admit to watching! What did we do before DVR’s? It is so nice to be able to watch a 60 minute show in 40 minutes.

      Enjoy the Wii and your son’s birthday!

  3. rockafellaskank
    December 15, 2011 at 3:42 am

    I don’t have a Wii or XBox etc, but think I might get a couple of DVDs next year to exercise at home sometimes. Something dancey would be great.

    I’m a big TV fan and have quite a few collections of TV series on DVD – from the likes of Buffy, West Wing, Deadwood, Big Bang Theory, Entourage, Sex and the City and lots of others I can’t even think of. But I’m a big fan of crime dramas (Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods etc). We are in a non-ratings period here, so less-known stuff is on our screens: The Glades, The Killing etc.

    I’m also addicted to So You Think You Can Dance but not a big fan of other reality tv shows!

    Deb

    • December 15, 2011 at 3:05 pm

      I’m addicted to SYTYCD too – such a great show. And I think I read on your other blog that you are/were a Twin Peaks fan. I was really into that show in younger days. Okay, so I had a major crush on Special Agent Cooper – but I did like the rest of the show too!

      • rockafellaskank
        December 18, 2011 at 4:35 am

        I was a Twin Peaks fan and had a crush on Kyle McLachlin (sp?) at the time as well. I’ve got the first season on DVD but suspect it would annoy me a bit now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

