Focusing In

December 30, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

The holidays are almost behind us and it is time again to look forward to the promise of a new year.  Where past failures melt away and the allure of a clean slate shines brighter than the glitter on my son’s last art project from school.  I try not to make resolutions, but I can’t help but think about how I would like for 2012 to go for me.  This year, I would like to focus on three specific areas that I believe will help me in my journey to lose weight: exercise, nutrition, and overall well-being.

One of the biggest victories I can boast from this past year is the fact that I’ve been exercising on a consistent basis.  Looking back at my first forays into riding our recumbent bike, I am amazed to remember how I started riding for 10 minutes at a time, 3 nights a week.  Then 4 nights and 5 nights.  Then, 15 minutes, 20 minutes, 25 minutes – until I’ve worked my way up to 30 minutes a day, 5 days a week.  This year I’d like to vary my exercise routine – including Wii games, workout DVDs, and strength training.

Nutrition is something that I’ve always felt I knew about on the surface.  You know, green = healthy, fried = artery-clogging.  But this year I’d like to not only learn more about nutrition, but also try new foods and new ways of preparing foods.  Fish have been on my will-not-ever-eat-even-if-paid-a-million-dollars list since I was about 12.  This year, I’d like to try at least 1 fish dish.  If I still hate the taste/smell/texture of fish, so be it.  But at least I’ll give it a try!  I would like to learn more about beans and greens – like swiss chard and kale.  How can you prepare them and/or incorporate them into existing dishes?  Who knows, maybe I’ll become a veggie-holic!

Finally, I’d like to focus more on my mental/emotional well-being.  During my more introspective moments, I’ve come to realize that I’m my own worst enemy when it comes to my weight loss efforts.  I know what I should eat and what I should avoid.  But..all that knowledge goes to hell the minute I’m bored, stressed, celebrating, bummed, etc.  So I need to find ways to better deal with what bothers me and to stay busy so I don’t veg in front of the TV after a long day and nibble.

How’s that for going almost as far as naming some resolutions, but not quite!

How about you?  Are you making any New Year’s Resolutions?  Or are you going the route I am?  Or doing something altogether different?

 

  1. December 31, 2011 at 4:50 am

    Sounds like you are on the right path with your goals. I love that you want to learn more about nutrition. The internet has been an incredible treasure trove of recipes for me. I almost never make the same thing twice because there are so many tempting recipes out there. I store them all in a folder in Eversave so I have access to the recipes I want to try on my phone when I’m at the grocery store.

    I didn’t start eating vegetables until I was 25! Now I can’t imagine life without them. It’s funny how tastes change. I never ate fish either until living abroad in a place where fish was quite abundant. Now I love it. I will try anything once. I hope you find a delicious fish recipe that knocks your socks off.

    Don’t even get me going on kale! Never in my wildest dreams could I have imagined my 6 month long, still going strong obsession with kale! Love it!! I eat it in salads, soups, sautéed, in wraps and baked into kale chips.

    I don’t have any resolutions yet. I’m not sure if I will go that route or do something a little less formal. I always have lots of goals that I would love to accomplish.

    Happy New Year!

    • December 31, 2011 at 9:14 pm

      Oh, how amazing! What is your favorite kale recipe? I’ll be looking some of those up this weekend…sounds like a good veggie to start with!

  2. January 1, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    One of my favorite kale recipes is this one from Fannetastic Food http://www.fannetasticfood.com/recipes/cheesy-coconut-sauted-chickpeas-and-kale/

    I also love some of the kale salads on ohsheglows.com. Angela’s recipes are gorgeous and taste incredible.

    The trick to eating kale raw in a salad is to massage it really well with some kind of oil. I usually use olive oil. The oil helps to wilt it down and makes it easier to eat. Once massaged you can also sprinkle some sea salt and pepper and bake the kale in the oven to make kale chips. They are addicting!

    Please post if you find a kale recipe that you end up enjoying.

    • January 1, 2012 at 5:28 pm

      I added that cheesy coconut sauteed chickpeas and kale recipe to my Plan to Eat file, so I think in another week I’ll give it a shot. I don’t think I’ve had chickpeas before either, so it will be a two for one veggie adventure! I also saw a recipe for kale chips…just gotta find a video on YouTube on how to prepare/cut kale. I’m awful when it comes to knowing how to cut veggies and herbs, so I always look for videos online!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

