Home > Exercise, Focus Areas, Weight Loss > Found – Basic Strength Training Exercises

Found – Basic Strength Training Exercises

I read frequently that while cardio exercises will burn the greatest number of calories during the 30 minutes or whatever that you exercise, it is building lean muscle mass that increases your metabolism and helps you to burn more calories while just sitting around.  That’s why I’m trying to find some good resources on strength training for women.

A couple of years ago when we saw this particular fertility doctor, she mentioned to me a DVD called Lift Weights to Lose Weight and said it was an excellent resource.

So I went right away to Amazon.com and bought it.

And I’ve used it 3 times in my entire life.

It really isn’t the video itself that is bad – I mean I think I would really enjoy it.  However, many of the sets (is that the right word?) required the use of a bench on which to either sit, lean, or lie down.  Of course, the perky instructor suggested substituting a chair if you don’t have a bench but I gotta tell you – I didn’t feel all that sturdy trying to lean onto the folding chair that we have down in the basement.

I think I’ll set that video aside for when I lose a little more weight and if I can commit to this, maybe we’ll invest into a regular, plain, weight bench or something.

In the meantime, I’m searching for resources online.  One site that I found last night has 6 easy-looking exercises that don’t require anything other than a set of dumbbells (or dumbbars, as my son says) – which I have.  If my forearms stop aching (we painted the hallway last night and this morning), I might just give these a try tonight!

Strength Training exercises

  1. January 1, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    Weight training is definitely important to weight loss. Do you have On Demand as a part of your TV service? There are some great exercise videos on that. Totally old school but one of my favorites is Cindy Crawford: The Next Challenge Workout. It is broken up into sections so if you’re pressed for time you can choose to do one or two areas. I often do only the upper body strength training which is no more than 15 minutes. It is very user friendly and only requires hand weights.

    The internet is a wealth of resources. I would actually like to increase my strength training this year because it’s not a rigid part of my routine right now though I do tend to fit it in once or twice a week at the gym.

    Also maybe check Craigslist for a used inexpensive weight bench. If you don’t already read Marion’s blog please check it out at affectionforfitness.blogspot.com. She has a great series on weight training and is simply an inspiration when it comes to overall fitness.

    • January 1, 2012 at 5:26 pm

      We do have On Demand, so I’ll check out that Cindy Crawford video for sure, as well as the blog you recommend. Thanks for all of the information!

  2. rockafellaskank
    January 2, 2012 at 2:29 am

    I’m not much of an export at that kind of thing, but I think exercises like squats, lunges, push ups and dips are great places to start as well. Require no equipment and just use body weight!

    Deb

  3. rockafellaskank
    January 2, 2012 at 2:29 am

    Oops… *expert*! (Saw it as I pushed ‘post comment’)

    • January 2, 2012 at 10:05 am

      Good point Deb – usually when I think “strength training” I automatically assume something with weights. See how much I have to learn? 🙂 I just watched a video On Demand last night that had a lot of those things (squats and such). Usually I shy away from that because my knees aren’t in the best of shape and I can’t squat or lunge as far down as the instructor is. So I always wonder if doing it halfway does any good. Sometimes I wish that a truly plus-size woman would make a video showing real exercises that are slightly modified for those of us who still have a ways to go before we can really feel confident following some of those instructors on workout videos/TV. There was a yoga tape I had years ago called “Yoga for Round Bodies”. It was nice!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

