Home > Focus Areas, Nutrition, Weight Loss > Cream in my coffee and why I can’t win for trying

Cream in my coffee and why I can’t win for trying

January 11, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Years ago, I would drink my coffee black as night.  Heck, it was probably only when I started getting hooked on McDonald’s iced coffees a couple of years ago that I even considered putting cream in my coffee.  Now that we make our own iced coffees at home, I’m definitely a fan of creamer.

Hazelnut flavored to be specific.

Prior to trying the South Beach Diet, I was drinking your regular old Fat Free Hazelnut creamer.  A non-dairy product.  Can’t remember for sure, but I thought the carbs in that were higher than in the regular (non fat-free) variety.  I think that was the reason that I decided to try a new way to flavor my coffee – sugar-free (you guessed it, hazelnut) syrup and fat free half & half.

After a while though, I longed for the more genuinely hazelnutty flavor of my ready-made creamer.  I was excited when I discovered the Sugar-Free Hazelnut creamer.  Hooray!  I thought I had finally achieved a good balance between something yummy tasting and relatively low carb.

Then, I read an article somewhere online about the hidden places where you’ll find trans fats.  Guess what?  Non-dairy coffee creamer is one of them!  Granted, most have less than 0.5 g per serving, so they don’t have to list it on the label.  But, since I usually had 2 servings in the morning and would sometimes have another 2 for an evening coffee treat, I thought it was worth looking into.  Sure enough when I read the label, trans fats were not listed.  So I checked the ingredients.  Third item on the list is PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED SOYBEAN AND/OR COTTONSEED OIL.  Shit.

So, I figured it was back to my trusty fat free half & half and sugar-free hazelnut syrup.  Only the other day, I just happened to gaze at the label and noticed this item – I think it might be second in the ingredients list: HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP.

Seriously?  Double Shit.

So now I’m in a pickle.  I wonder exactly how many grams of trans fats are in the non-dairy creamer.  Probably regardless, it would be better if I didn’t make it a part of my daily intake.  So for now, I’m sticking with the fat free half & half.  I also thought I might give some 1% milk a try too.  I don’t really put a lot in, so I’m thinking I might not even notice the difference

Have you ever switched from a food that wasn’t good for you to one that you thought was better, only to find out in the end that one wasn’t so great either?

  1. rockafellaskank
    January 11, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    Yep… I started eating Greek Yoghurt a few years ago, only to discover it was full of sugar and high in calories. (Still yummy though!)

    Deb

  2. January 11, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    Oh no…guess what I picked up at the store the other day? A container of Greek yogurt! I’m going to have to go look at it – I thought it was an ingredient in this low-carb shake I wanted to try, so I hope it is not too high in sugar. It is the plain variety so maybe that makes a difference.

  3. January 12, 2012 at 8:23 am

    Working nights I used to love my coffee and coffee creamer. The girls and I would alternate bringing delicious flavored creamers until I realized how full of artificial ingredients they were. I have switched to tea for the most part and on occasion enjoy a cup of coffee. Coffee Mate Natural Bliss creamers are not bad in the ingredient department. However, they don’t make hazelnut. I now use soy creamer when I do drink coffee. Silk does make a hazelnut flavored creamer. A quick google search also led me to this post http://deliciouslyorganic.net/homemade-coffee-creamer/ which might be helpful.

    I have been really label conscious lately especially buying snacks for my son. It is so disheartening to find so many products with HFCS amongst other “bad” ingredients. I don’t freak out if he has something here and there but overall I strive for less of the processed foods and more of the natural. It’s a challenge though.

    • January 15, 2012 at 10:28 am

      Thanks for the link Aimee – I might have to give that, or the natural bliss creamer a try. Reading labels can be really disheartening, I agree! Especially on those things that you think are *supposed* to be healthy (or at least not awful).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

