Home > Weight Loss > A loss is a loss…

A loss is a loss…

January 15, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I stepped on the scale this morning and saw 323.4 – which reflects a 0.4 pound loss from last Sunday.  Considering I averaged about 1200-1300 calories per day (except for last Monday which was 2100), I would normally be very depressed.

However.

I’m bloated and think a lot of this is water retention.  Ladies, you get what I mean.

It is actually rather exciting.  This doesn’t happen to me without medication, but low and behold, I did it all on my own.  Even though I haven’t lost any weight since June (unless you count the 4-6 pounds I continue to gain/lose), maybe the consistent exercise and better eating has helped to get my hormones in order.

Who knows!

I’m going to just wait until next Sunday before I decide how this lower calorie range is working for me.  Unfortunately my mom is here for a visit and not only did we go to Olive Garden tonight (I at least had the lunch-sized portion), but she made scotcharoos.  And I’ve had 6.  My 40 minute walk tonight doesn’t even come close to making up for that.

So, I’m going to just pick myself up and dust myself off.  Tomorrow’s a brand new day!

Categories: Weight Loss
  1. rockafellaskank
    January 15, 2012 at 11:52 pm

    I haven’t had a great week myself so understand your disappointment… although yours may be fluid retention as you said.

    Good attitude re last night as well – dusting yourself off etc..

    Have a great week!

    Deb

    • January 17, 2012 at 8:22 pm

      Thanks Deb! Monday night wasn’t so great either, but I made up for it today with good choices and extra exercise. I love my mom to pieces but I tend to treat her visits as special eating occasions (i.e., going out to eat, having dessert and snacks, etc.)

  2. January 16, 2012 at 8:09 am

    Hurray for a loss! I’m glad you’re not feeling down about it. I think an important part of any weight loss journey is learning to stop the internal negative talk that goes on. Each tenth of a pound gets us closer to our goal. Keep up the great work and be proud of your success!

    • January 17, 2012 at 8:24 pm

      That negative self-talk has been something I’ve struggled with on and off for probably 15 years. I was so confident and sure of myself in my younger years. Now it comes and goes. You’re absolutely right that every tenth of a pound counts – good way to look at it 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

