Home > Weight Loss > Sunday Weigh-In and Temptation Thy Name is Pinterest

Sunday Weigh-In and Temptation Thy Name is Pinterest

January 22, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

After last week’s tiny loss (which I chalked up to retaining water), I was hoping to see a good loss on the scale this morning.  And, I saw a loss!  It wasn’t huge, but it gets me moving in the right direction.  Last week I was 323.4 and today I am 321.8 – a 1.6 pound loss!

This week I didn’t do very well sticking to 1200 calories – a few days I did, a few days I didn’t.  My problem was that I thought for a fun treat I would pick up some whole wheat Ritz crackers and pub cheese.  Not an awful treat if you can stick to about 5 crackers.  Of course this week all my television shows were on and I planted my butt in front of the TV while I ate…which resulted in me eating a half sleeve of crackers…and one night, I actually ate a whole sleeve.  What I learned from this?  I can’t “eat just one”.

Point taken.  Moving on.

So my new addiction is Pinterest.  What a neat concept!  When I see neat things on the web I bookmark them – which results in hundreds of bookmarks in random order, which I sometimes try to organize but quickly give up because it takes too damn long.  For me, Pinterest is the perfect way to bookmark things and have a visual cue as to what I actually found interesting.

One of my boards is dedicated to cupcakes.  Why do I do this to myself?  I have probably 15 different scrumptious looking cupcakes staring me in the face every time I check out my boards.  Which is daily.  I really love to bake, so my attraction to cupcakes is natural.  The good news is that I haven’t actually made any of the cupcakes I’ve pinned (or any cupcakes, for that matter).  Many of the recipes you have to make from scratch (no boxed mixes), so that has been my saving grace.  See, while I like to bake, usually I’m a lazy baker and prefer to make it from a box.  (Except cookies, but that’s a different story.)

Who knows how long I’ll be able to stave off the temptation of these glorious cupcakes.  At least since the frosting is homemade it wouldn’t contain all the trans fat that canned frosting does.  And, what I will have to do is bake on a Sunday so I can have one cupcake and take the rest in to work to share.  That way I can have my (cup)cake and eat it too, right?  As long as this doesn’t become a weekly activity, I can see it being a good way to engage in something that relieves my stress and that I enjoy, while still being responsible with what I put into my mouth.  Plus, my co-workers will enjoy the treat as well!

Categories: Weight Loss
  1. thismammasheart
    January 22, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    you know what you might wanna try… baking vegan style….find some vegan cupcakes, cookies, etc and start cooking those, rather than the other way and get yourself use to a healthier way of cooking,, then you can venture into dinners, lunches and breakfast…. you’d be surprised how good most of the vegan meal options are.
    but besides all that,, congrats on the weight loss…you can SOOO do this!!!! I’ll be following.

    cindie

    • January 22, 2012 at 8:50 pm

      Thanks for the feedback Cindie! You know, I’ve never really considered eating vegan, so it is definitely something I could read up on and learn more about. I appreciate your good wishes – it is slow progress, but I’m not going to give up!

  2. rockafellaskank
    January 22, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    I haven’t been on Pinterest and don’t really know what it entails I must confess….

    Congrats on the loss this week!

    Deb

    • January 23, 2012 at 9:25 pm

      Don’t go unless you want to get sucked in… Actually, I think it is pretty cool. When you were a kid, did you ever cut things out of magazines and keep them or paste them to a board? Okay, so I didn’t do that as a kid, but I’m having fun with it as an adult!

  3. January 26, 2012 at 1:07 am

    I love Pinterest but I have had no time to do anything with it. I know once I start it’s easy to get sucked in. I don’t think I could handle staring at delicious looking cupcakes for too long! I always bring baked goods into work for my coworkers to sample. I’ve really taken to vegan baking and using natural sweeteners like dates whenever possible. It’s been fun exposing people to different flavors and healthier treats. Maybe you can experiment with changing the cupcake recipes to make them a little more healthful. Last year I added spinach to a cupcake mix to make St. Patrick’s Day cupcakes. You couldn’t taste the spinach but it turned the cupcakes into a lovely shade of green. I got the idea on greenlitebites.com.

    Congratulations on your weight loss this week! Awesome job.

    • January 26, 2012 at 8:48 pm

      I can definitely see how people could become addicted to Pinterest! This week I haven’t been on it very much…I think the novelty has worn off a bit. But yeah, really the only thing keeping me from baking lovely cupcakes is the fact that I’m too lazy to get everything out and make them from scratch right now! Never thought of using dates as a sweetener. I’ve read about using applesauce and want to try that sometime. There is a website I’ve seen where there are several “skinny” cupcake recipes so I might do some looking there too.

      Thanks for the encouragement on the loss 🙂 I stepped on the scale this morning and have lost another 1.2 pounds so we’ll see if that will hold up until Sunday.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

