Home > Life > FMM: Makeup Favorites

FMM: Makeup Favorites

January 30, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Today is Friend Makin’ Monday (FMM) and since I’m way behind on my blog reading, I’m just going to do this quick post and then go do some reading!  (Plus, I got The Help from Redbox last night and I have to finish it up to return tonight!)  Want to play along?  Just copy the questions below to your own blog and give your answers.  Then visit www.alltheweigh.com and link up in the comments.  Easy peasy!

FMM: Makeup Favorites

1.  Do you wear makeup everyday? I wear the basics to work every day.  On the weekend if I’m just running errands I usually don’t.

2.  Does your routine change if you’re going out with friends/on a date/to a party? It depends on what we’re doing.  If I’m going out to dinner with my husband, then I add mascara, sometimes a little eyeliner, and lip gloss.

3.  Are you loyal to one brand, or do you use different brands for different things? For makeup I’m pretty loyal to one brand (Bare Escentuals), simply because I found it works for me and I can’t be bothered to mess around with trying other brands!  I never really learned how to apply makeup so having to pick it out is more of a nightmare than a fun experience.

4.  Do you wear primer/concealer? If so, what’s your favorite kind?  Well, I use the Bare Escentuals foundation as concealer.  Plus there is this eye brightening stuff I use under my eyes a lot of days.  See how much I know about makeup?  I refer to “eye brightening stuff”.

5.  What’s your favorite brand of foundation? Bare Escentuals

6.  Do you use blush and/or bronzer?  Not on a regular basis.  If I do, then it is….Bare Escentuals.  I apply it with an extremely light hand because I don’t look right with a lot of makeup.

7.  Do you wear eye shadow/eye liner?  I usually wear eye shadow just to brighten my lids.  It is BE…one is some sort of eye primer and the other is an actual eye shadow.  I don’t know names or colors without looking at them.

8.  What’s your favorite kind of mascara?  Right now it is Clinique because I got it as a sample last time I bought my moisturizer.  I don’t typically wear mascara so a sample lasts me a while.

9.  Lipstick? Lip gloss? Both? Favorite? If I want to do something a little special for date night or something, I use lip gloss.  My favorite is one of the Buxoms by – you guessed it – Bare Escentuals.  Otherwise, Carmex.

10.  Do you wear nail polish regularly?  If so, share a few of your favorite brands/colors.  No.  I love looking at nail polish colors, but I am so bad at applying it that I wear it maybe once or twice a year.

11.  How do you remove your makeup at the end of the day?  Clinique liquid soap.

12.  Do you feel prettier when you’re wearing makeup?  To a certain point, yes.  The makeup I wear every day, plus the extra I add for special occasions makes me feel pretty.  But when I try to go all out, I feel more self-conscious than anything because I don’t look like me.  One time, I went to a Bare Escentuals store and they did the full treatment – fully made up for a night out…and my DH looked at me and even though he said I looked pretty, I could tell he wasn’t really into it!  Maybe it was the dichotomy of being in jeans/tshirt and yet fully made up…but I just don’t look right with a lot of makeup.  I prefer a more natural look.

13.  Do you have any beauty tips that you could pass along?  Well, I’m not the best one to ask!  The only thing I can think of is don’t smoke, drink plenty of water, and moisturize 🙂

Categories: Life
  1. rockafellaskank
    January 30, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    Hmmm… I don’t think I’ll do this one as I can’t actually wear make up. I get sweaty as soon as anything goes on my face. I put moisturiser on before bed, but have to make sure the room’s cool etc. So I tend to just wear lipstick. 😦

    • February 4, 2012 at 5:31 pm

      Probably by 10:00am most of the makeup is gone from my face anyway. It has been a long time since I’ve felt like I’ve worn a “full face” of makeup. The Bare Escentuals stuff works pretty well for me because it is a powder. Hair and makeup aren’t really my thing!

  2. January 30, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    I’m glad that my DH prefers a more natural look too. I have my fair share of makeup, but I rarely wear more than mascara, blush and lip tint.

    • February 4, 2012 at 5:33 pm

      I enjoy looking at makeup, especially eye shadows. There are so many beautiful colors! But the moment they hit my skin, I just don’t look right. So I’m right there with you and the natural look!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

