Home > Weight Loss > Time to kick it into gear again…

Time to kick it into gear again…

I can’t believe that my son’s first year of school is just a little over a week from wrapping up.  Can it really have been that long since he started Kindergarten – or was born for that matter?

My work on the project for his school is wrapping up and I can’t put off the reality anymore that I’ve been completely neglectful in my attempts to lose weight.  Too much night-time snacking…a little something here and a little something there…it all adds up.  I’ve been weighing in at 313-315 each week for so long now and I wish I could call it a plateau but the honest answer is that I really haven’t been trying all that hard.

So here I sit fully aware of the fact that I have to go out of town for a few days this week for a meeting and know that is one of the most awful times to try and “behave”!  I’m hoping that by starting to post here more regularly I will start to gain back some of that accountability that helped so much previously.

This week will not be easy to predict, so I’m going to do the best I can and mostly focus on portions.  And I’ll try to lay off the snacking 🙂  Staying in a hotel room is always the worst…I just nibble because I’m bored and lonely.  Which means I’m going to need to get my butt in gear and use the fitness room while I’m there!

I hope this post will lead to something new – a new phase in my journey to lose weight and get healthier.  My most immediate goal is to get down to 300.  When I do, DH and I are going to get bicycles so we can go our riding with our son.  I really want to make that happen this summer, so I’m going to start re-reading the South Beach Diet books.  Last time I read them it made SO much sense to me and was pretty motivating.  Even though I wasn’t able to fully commit to the program, so many of the principles helped get me going into the next phase.  It can only help again, right?

Tomorrow for breakfast I plan to have my usual Fiber One bar and my iced coffee (decaf, sugar-free).  Lunch will be the chicken Caesar salad from Panera, with just 1 of the dressing “cups” and a whole grain baguette.  The lunch typically comes with a cookie too, so that will be my big challenge.  They are DELISH, but absolutely gross in terms of calories, fat and carbs.  It will have to come home with me and maybe my son and I will share it for a treat sometime this week.  Dinner will be tacos (just 2), corn, and either apple slices or grapes.  It will be on the higher end of the carb spectrum with the taco shells and corn, but calorie-wise should be right on target.

Bicycle, here I come!

 

Categories: Weight Loss
  1. May 14, 2012 at 12:41 am

    Hi there and welcome back! It sounds like you’ve been doing some thinking and planning and are now on the right track! Good luck and you’ll be on that bike in no time at all!

    • May 14, 2012 at 6:54 pm

      Thanks Deb – I can tell already it is going to be a struggle. Today went okay, but not as well as I had planned. It is hard getting into the mindset again when I’ve been so “permissive” for the last few months!

  2. May 14, 2012 at 7:11 am

    Nice to see you here!! Having a plan is always best. I know what you mean about Panera cookies. It’s like the desserts case at Starbucks, ridiculous nutrition stats. I think Panera will let you sub an apple for the the cookie.

    I’m itching to get a bicycle so I can ride with my son. It’s just not in the budget right now. In the meantime I run/chase him while he rides on the bike trail!! It’s still a lot of fun.

    I think you’re plan to combat boredom eating is great. Use the hotel gym or go for a walk. Good luck this week.

    • May 14, 2012 at 6:56 pm

      Yeah, the Panera cookies are absolutely delicious but just horrendously bad in terms of nutritional value. Of course I ate mine at lunch today :/ I am in this habit of just eating what is in front of me! The rest of my day was pretty good though, so I’m accepting it for what it was and moving on!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

